Now Available at en.snowy2004.com

The Long Road to Launch

In Wii on September 14, 2006 at 7:21 pm

NOA president Reggie Fils-Aime confirms $249.99 price, November 19 launch

Wii cuts up the Big Apple – News at GameSpot

And Canada:

Nintendo’s next-generation Wii console will hit stores Nov. 19 with a price tag of $279.95, the company announced Thursday.

Nintendo announces Nov. 19 release date for Wii console at $279.95 | CP

So we know now what we need to know… unless you’re not in Japan, Canada or the US. Compared to the conversion I did earlier, the console cost more but Canada and US get Wii Sports packed in. After some calculations, and for the time being, I’m planning in pre-ordering a console and only a console (again, with Wii Sports) for launch. I might change my mind in the future but that’s it for now. Today, we learned about Wii Channels and Mii. Wii channels is the menu interface for the Wii. The channels include one for accessing game discs, one for weather, with a nice weather map, news, the store for the Virtual console, the Opera web browser, a photo viewer with nifty features like slide shows and photo puzzles and the Mii channel. All your Virtual console games get their own channel also. Mii is the name of characters you can create to represent you or anyone with the Wii. You can even play as them in games like Wii Sports and WarioWare. Nice addition. Not entirely necessary but I’m sure all of this will be fun to play with.

Now about the price, I understand that I get a free game but I’d almost (just almost) want to get a basic system and buy myself a game. Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m kinda glad Wii Sports comes with the Wii: I see it as a “I wanta play it but I wouldn’t buy it” game. As for the release date, I find it a bit late for what I was hoping but after my calculations, it seems I nearly need all that time to save up for it.

Well that’s about it for now. If I think about other things about the Wii I feel like ranting about, I’ll post it.

Blogged with Flock

Leave a Reply

