Now Available at en.snowy2004.com

More Drama that TV

In Mac on October 26, 2006 at 11:53 pm

Shocking twists! Angry Fans! And Vote Tampering! No you aren’t flashing back to 2000. It’s 2006 and it’s the My Dream App competition. After clearing up some vote tampering, the results were made public: Atmosphere, Portals and Cookbook won and are getting made. But the truly big shock was that Cookbook won by 5 votes, leaving Hijack with Whistler (Why?! 😦 I want it!) and Blossom as the runners-up. Outrage came from Hijack fans. But the big shocker is…

Hey all. MDA brought to my attention this morning, that there was someone, that I know personally, who was gaming the vote system. It is with a heavy heart that I have to say this. And I realize this puts my integrity on the line. For what it’s worth, I want to go on record, that I never condoned any such action or behavior, I did not know it was even going on during this round. Not only do I feel horrible, but so does this person, and it is our relationship that I value over anything else. That is why I’m going to decline any prizes being offered (i.e. the Mac Mini, Office Suite, and the Tshirt). It’s the only thing I know how to do at this point to help restore the trust from everyone here: the community, the Hijack fans, my fellow contestants, and of course, all the fantastic people at MDA. I apologize to everyone above for any direct or indirect anguish this may have caused.

Thank you,
Kevin Capizzi

My Dream App » Contestants » Kevin Capizzi » Blog

This is from the creator of Hijack. He’s still not decided on the question of the prizes (He might donate them). Already, people are planning projects to bring Hijack to life. But the saga isn’t finished.

One things for sure: Someone better make Whistler.

But on a serious note, it’s a pity that this tampering happened and that Hijack lost by 5 votes. Makes me feel a bit guilty as I wanted that app to get made also. But I decided to only vote for Whistler and not use up the extra votes. I’ll keep on following this as it unfolds, hopefully ending in a result that leaves everyone happy.

Blogged with Flock

Leave a Reply

