Now Available at en.snowy2004.com

Almost Sold

In Mac on September 1, 2007 at 3:16 pm

Well, I think Word just crashed my Mac. Not just freeze. The whole “You need to shut down” message on the dimmed background. I can only think that having Flock, Mail, iTunes, Sling Player, Omni Outliner and Windows XP under Parallels open at the same time as Word was launching didn’t help but they should have just caused some slowdown (BTW, I upgraded to 2 GB of RAM a couple of weeks ago. Makes Windows a lot quicker in Parallels.) not an all out crash. Then again, my Mac has been suffering recently from periodical Exposé-educed freezes.

When I got my Mac back up and running, I decided to use Pages for what I was going to do. That’s when I discovered the Missing Element. That feature that made me use Word over it : Vocabulary check. Unlike the English language where you can live with just spell check and some basic knowledge of how to write, French has many, many rules. Being French-Canadian and all, I know what many of those rules are but when I worked in Word, I always had it’s help, just in case. If something read funny to him, he’d tell me with zig-zagy green underlining, much like the red one of spell check. I’m confident enough that I could have lived without it in Pages but a second opinion for my writing skills isn’t bad. Well, I found out where that feature has been hiding and activated it in Pages. I really like how it tells me, in the Vocab check dialogue, why it told me it was a mistake. The only lacking feature of Pages now is that there is no auto-save which, honestly, is short of criminal. I guess I’ll just have to learn to Command-S more frequently. There is a way to make one but it isn’t “Apple Simple”. It’s a shame but in the end, I don’t want to keep using a PowerPC app or one that’s on my list for causing my Mac to crash. Plus it’s from Microsoft : the less of them, the better.

Blogged with Flock

  1. […] find a complete sentence while on the Web. But, French reeks of grammar rules. And the feature that made me love Pages is now available across OS X, in both French and English – and probably other languages too. I […]

Leave a Reply

