Now Available at en.snowy2004.com

While You Back Up – Some Leopard Impressions

In Mac on October 27, 2007 at 10:16 am

Well, breakfast wasn’t enough – I’m only at 14.1 GB on 35.06 – so why don’t I talk a bit about Leopard.

The Dock – The new Dock is, well, just “OK”. The reflective surface isn’t the mind-blowing amazing-ness you might have been led to believe when you first saw it in the keynote. It’s just… OK. It doesn’t add to it nor really take away. Although there is something about icons popping over the Dock that I like and the blue lights that seem to shine through the Dock is nice. The new side Dock also look nice. It’s like the Classic Dock, but bolder and darker. Unfortunately, Stacks only appear in grids when on the side. Talking about Stacks…

Stacks –  A formerly missing feature that still misses a bit. The perfect new feature for former Windows users that can’t let go of the Start Button. Pop in the Apps folder and presto! Unfortunately, if you want to stack a couple of apps (Say, iLife to reduce clutter on the Dock), you can’t. You can only stack folders of Apps (which makes iWork easy to do but with iLife, you’ll have to make a folder first). Both the gird and “pop-out” views look well and it’s nice that Leopard knows when it’s best to use one or the other.

Quick Look – A top reason to buy Leopard. I plug in my external drive for the first time. A second later, a docx (the new Word format) file’s icon shows a miniature preview of it’s contents. I select the file and press the space bar. A small window shows up and gives me a preview of the file. My MacBook Pro then becomes covered with blood and small chunks of my brain. The fact that you can access files on the fly with the press of the space bar is huge. I could even view slides of a Keynote presentation… and I haven’t even installed Keynote yet! This ridiculous quickness and ease of use makes it a killer feature. It’s not perfect, though. There are some formatting problems and some missing content in previews and you can’t zoom in or quickly navigate multi-page documents. But the simple fact that you can quickly identify documents, pictures and video without opening an app is phenomenal.

A few observations:

-The Open/Save dialogue boxes now have iLife Media Browser-like functionality. At the bottom of the source list, you can access music, photos and video in you iTunes and iPhoto libraries.

-Apple still hates two button mice. I had to manually activate the right mouse button on my Mighty Mouse after my clean installation of Leopard.

-The new Menu Bar looks good. Some hate it’s transparency. I don’t mind it. I actually like that it adds a bit of colour to the desktop. Heck, I wish there was a transparency setting somewhere. Those who hate it could have it fully opaque but I’d have it completely invisible!Time Machine check!

Only 17.33 GB… it seems to work quicker when I’m not using the computer. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

